RSS

Before Starting, the Odyssey for Secondary Textbooks

25 Aug

I mentioned before Summer vacations that textbooks arrived in both the Secondary schools where I work. (Read: Ending the School Year on a Good Note)

newtext04

On the first school day, I snuck in to make inventory and surprise surprise. There weren’t enough books in one school for the whole school population. Actually, not even one shift (that’s the correct word?) for First Grade, not even for 3 classrooms (there are 10 per grade) for Second and Third grade. Sad, sad.  We made the complaint letter, stating the amount of book required, and so on. We are still waiting…

newtext02

 

Inmediatelly, I went to the other school to sneak in again. In this inventory, there were plenty of books in 1st grade (which I am teaching this school year) like 250 extra, because they sent from two publisher companies. The extra boxes belonged from two years inventory which got late AS USUAL, so we had the leftover left behind books.

One Laptop per Child in Sonora

So, I had an idea. Of course with permission, I voluntered to help to hand out the textbooks, so I could get hold of those extra boxes.

After 3 days of cleaning, moving, counting, arranging and sweating (the warehouse/laboratory is really big and without proper AC), I obtained 4 boxes (3 textbook and 1 reader) for my 3 groups in the other Secondary. I handed them out and I am quite happy because I will have the 4 first grade groups with the same textbook. Let’s see how it works.

newtext03

So I will be working with Yes, We Can! 1 Secondary by Richmond. If someone has the audios, please send them to me. Thank you!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2014 in 4th cycle

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Before Starting, the Odyssey for Secondary Textbooks

  1. Maura

    August 25, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    Today I received the new books (All ready !) but I search for the CD and surprise, there isnt a CD, so if anyone has the CD please share.
    BTW: I am from Veracruz

     
  2. achulin

    August 26, 2014 at 6:01 pm

     
  3. vicky

    August 26, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    HI, I´m from Pachuca, Hgo. In my school I have “Yes We Can ” books second grade, but I don´t have audios too, so If anyone has them, please share. Thank you.

     
  4. eli

    August 20, 2015 at 5:06 am

    I´m looking for the audios too, if any one have them please share me, thanks.

     
  5. Adry ViGa

    September 2, 2015 at 3:39 pm

    yo doy clases en Veracruz, No tengo idea como trabajar con el libro Teens Club, en primero y segundo de secundaria. Los de segundo medio tienen conocimiento del idioma; los de primero hay niños que no se saben mi el alfabeto, nunca han tenido inglés. Como trabajar con un libro que supera el nivel básico?? y mas aún, un libro que incluye temas de poco o nulo interés para los alumnos. en caso de segundo grado, con lecturas de casi TRES hojas con vocabulario que no les sirve de nada a los alumnos!! Si alguien tiene idea o ya ha trabajado con este libro le agradecería su ayuda… ah tampoco me llegaron los audios 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
