RSS

Why I hate/love Observations?

12 May

I don’t like when a supervisor visits me. It’s not that I am lazy and ashamed of my work, but they made me feel like that, every single time. I don’t know why but when you get a visit, everything that could possible bad happen, it happens.

COMMENT otherwise. I need to know that someone got a good review.angry-face

The worst visit was this March. Like usual, I wasn’t expecting it. The class started and I don’t know what happened. It became chaos. Students were restless and uncooperative. I almost lost my marbles a couple of times. Of course, everything was my fault. I know that I did wrong in many things but I was so anxious that I didn’t know how to fix things. The harder I tried to fix it, the worse it got.

Of course, I have an awful review. I don’t even dare to post it. I’m so ashamed. I have never been so mad at myself in my life.

Reflexions after a secondary reunion... the diet theory

However, it made me think about this year. That’s what I love of observations:

  • This year I have been working only on the copies. I am not happy, but I have to be in sync with the rest of my peers. I feel that copies restring you. I have to think in something else for next year.
  • I need to work on my classroom managment tools. I have more control on my troublemakers since that day. Why I didn’t that day? It angers me
  • I need to talk more English, regardless of my own impulses to explain in Spanish.

From this really bitter experience, you learn to be better.

I found this on Tumblr and I really like it. It’s true. So smile, tomorrow is another day. Another day to make my day!

work in progress

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2014 in 1st cycle, 2nd cycle, 3rd cycle, 4th cycle

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Why I hate/love Observations?

  1. Deya

    May 12, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    Dear Ale,
    I remember being “observing” your class once and it was GREAT! You gave on of the best classes I´ve witnessed (witness is my fav word for the so call “observation”). Yes there were a few students who seemed uncopertative or untattentious but you were all over the place, did speak mostly in english and managed to make students use the notebook, book and some hand out copies also, I still remember the topic and the anecdote of you going to Mexico City as I am sure some (if not many) of your students recall. Sometimes something is bothering us about our performance and it turns out that we feel that way wether we are being observed or not, it just magnifies times twenty when a “stranger” comes in the classroom (needless to say that the observer´s attitude means tons).
    And if this is the stage you are now, I can only wonder the bright professional future ahead of you. Bottom line, you rock! 🙂

    p.s. Overlook spelling mistakes 😛

     
    • Teacher Ale

      May 12, 2014 at 5:58 pm

      You are so sweet, but this time was a mess. I am not proud of myself this time around

       

Leave a Reply

 
