RSS

Play Money, Responsibility and Shopping

13 Mar

The idea is not new, I am afraid but it’s something I haven’t done: give play money to the students in order to buy something at the end of a period like a month, project, bimester, etc.

My 3rd grade secondary EFL teacher did it (16 years ago). They were called pilidollars and we used them at the end of the bimester for a portion of our grade.

money01

Now, it’s my time to do it. I made my play money. (Printable here)

money02

I pasted an envelope in my students hardcover notebooks to keep their money. I gave students one bill after each checked exercise.

money03

I set up a day to put my kiosk. I bought small and cute things to sale. Even made a cashier box to put the money.

money04

I taught how to ask for a price.

RESULTS:

It wasn’t so bad. It did motivate some kids to work harder because I had only 12 dollars for each class. However, some students stopped everything at all once they saw there were no more tickets.

NEW SPIN:

money05

Since I had some issues with the dollars like cutting a LOT and lost dollars. I MADE checks with different denominations $1, $2, $3, $4 and $5 and NOW I give them after 5 checked daily classworks. (For play check click here)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 13, 2014 in 1st cycle, 2nd cycle, 3rd cycle

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Play Money, Responsibility and Shopping

Leave a Reply

 
