RSS

Being a Mom and a Teacher

09 May

momteacher

It’s already time to celebrante my both professions: motherhood and teaching. I started teaching long before my husband, my son Max and our baby girl.

Back in school year 2005-2006, my first year... and plenty of pounds ago

Back in school year 2005-2006, my first year… and plenty of pounds ago

I was more like a big sister or cool aunt to my students. I embraced that role and I was a happy teacher who spent weekends making material, crafts, decorations, etc for them.

Once I started my new role as a mother my priorities changed, I still cared and worked for my students. However, my son became more important obviously.

I went through some moving around between towns and for a while I couldn’t connect with students like I did at the beginning of my career. Probably, I was feeling guiltly about caring more about my work that my famliy. So I refused to care a lot about my students.

This school year something changed. Being pregnant again and my son starting preschool, I realized that I need to care deeply for both my students and my family and don’t feel guilty.

My son’s teacher adores him… how can I not do the same for my students?

Both professions came from the same source: love and joy. So, everything we do as teachers and moms should come from the heart.

Happy Mother’s Day and Happy Teacher’s Day

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2013 in Misc

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Being a Mom and a Teacher

  1. achulin

    May 9, 2013 at 6:57 am

     
  2. Ed To

    May 9, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    It´s a ride. Being a teacher and and a mother. Congratulations!

     

Leave a Reply

 
