RSS

Getting an assistant and office

20 Sep

This school year has really started very well. I am in ONE Elementary school after 4 years of being a bi-school teacher. Yes, I work at a Leona Vicario Elementary School (There’s at least one in every state.

I got an assistant (that’s the post’s title, no big surprise!… duh!)

Her name is Miss D and she is high school student doing her professional “internship” with me… Why me??? Why did I do to deserve this? Well, she is an ex-student and lives near. Also, she is studying something about English in COBACH… I really don’t get it. I studied in a different high school system (CBTIS 11 rules)

I am not a mean boss, but I made her do a lot of things. I am so grateful that I have someone to help me to color, cut, paste, copies, etc… Sadly, she only sticks with me for 150 hours… like 2 months.

As, I mentioned before… This year finally I am getting an office at my elementary school (DREAM COME TRUE!!!!).

My Principal relocated his office and I got a desk and storage, also librarian responsabilities but that’s cool!

It took days to organize everything and dust it. A summer can create a thick layer of dust.

What are the most necessary things to have at school?

  • Scissors
  • Glue or tape
  • White and colored paper
  • Folders
  • Stapler (How I love mine!) and staples
  • Colors, crayons, markers or paint

  • Binder with activities or stories (the replaceable kind), books, videos, cds, etc aka Resources

  • Post-its or something for notes. I made a whiteboard-calendar with birthdays included. I used Google Calendar
 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2012 in 2nd cycle, 3rd cycle

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Getting an assistant and office

  1. Hugo

    September 20, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    I truly enjoy reading your posts, Ale. I’d love to get an assistant myself (not to mention an office). Hugs!

     
    • Teacher Ale

      September 20, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      And the best part is that I wasn´t expecting, just everything fall in the right place

       
      • celina chavez

        September 21, 2012 at 2:17 pm

        really Ale that is niceeeeeeeeeeeeee !!!!!
        actually , I got four….yes…..you read correctly FOUR OF THEM……jajjajaj…….I don´t get it either…but they are there with me at school…..they are from cobach too…..the ssame exact situation as yours………:D
        they are doing activities and stuff and they are getting to lead some of their activities which is so great because they are practicing in the teaching field…..nice for them…….and for meeeeeeeeee…….they willl finish up to december and they will help me ….a lot……with all the rehearsals for the festivals that are coming……….GOD IS SO GOOD WITH ME!!!! 😀
        I hope we all have this kind of help…every semester……yes I am so goloooooooosaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!! 😛

        ps. I love your blog!

         
      • Teacher Ale

        September 21, 2012 at 2:45 pm

        4??? You are sooo lucky!

         
  2. celina chavez

    September 21, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    yes!!!! I know! the only thing is that I don´t have an office 😦
    I have one of them per day and then on friday we plan the next week sessions……it is a great advantange to have them……….:D and the most interesting thing……is that they want to teach…..so…..they ……do it…..I let them present the activity they prepare as a warm up or wrap up………..so great!!!!!!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
